Picture
Stone of Remembrance

So I really shouldn't be writing this post before I get around to writing the now month old News of my last Mainz trip but I'll upload this one second so it can be our little secret ok?

Today I made an extra trip north to visit the Common Wealth war memorial cemetery in Kiel, Germany and had the incredible honour of visiting my great grandfather's grave and the graves of the service men who flew and died along side him. My great grandfather, Sergeant William Robertson Sutherland, was a pilot for the Canadian Royal Airforce during the Second World War, his plane went down June 24th 1941. At just twenty years old he left behind a young wife and unborn child; my grandfather, who was born just one month later.

This trip has sort of been a dream of mine for several years, I was unable to make it to Kiel on my first trip to Germany so it was fantastic to be able to finally have that experience. It has been ten years since my amazing great grandmother passed. Those of you who know me well will recall the small gold ring I have worn on my left ring finger (the only finger it fits on) for years now. Its a ring that belonged to my granny. I was quite young when she passed but I held and do still hold her very close to my heart, I promised myself years ago that I would take her to visit him and feel blessed to have had the opportunity to do so.

The commonwealth war memorial cemetery is the resting place of 983 soldiers of the british common wealth. It really is a beautiful, well kept sanctuary complete with a large ' cross of sacrifice', beautiful 'stone of remembrance', and detailed records of the soldiers commemorated there. The honour of being there alone is incredible, however it was certainly magnified by the personal connection. I cant even begin to describe the feelings and emotions of the whole experience, it was really surreal. I couldn't hold back tears as I laid the iconic Canadian remembrance day poppy on his grave (Thanks mom for sending them) and one upon the stone of remembrance for all those who lost their lives. As I added our family name to the plethora of other visitors in the guest registry my heart was full of gratitude, love and remembrance.

In very loving memory

Sergeant William Robertson Sutherland (pilot) age 20

and his comrades

sergeant George Bentley (observer/bombadier)

sergeant Anthony Frost (air gunner) age 19

Sergeant Thomas Jones (Air gunner)

Sergeant Robert Straughan (Air gunner) age 24

Lest we forget

Cedar


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Cedar Sutherland, Au pair for three children in Braunschweig Germany. Adventures, day to day life, rants, raves and news

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All