So it has been a solid month and a half since I last got anything written and posted. Why is that you ask? Because I'm lazy and the queen of procrastination, though I'm certainly going to use "Blog writers block" (which may or may not be a made up condition) as my excuse. However as I am sitting on a train to Bremen I find the time, quiet and patience to write so I thought it was a good time to recap.

And then in walks a nun.... nope, thats not the punchline to a joke, a fully dressed nun just entered my train... oh and she just asked me what direction our train will be driving in. Thats the most interaction I've had with a real nun in my life, and possibly ever will. I guess every day really is an adventure!

Moving right along, what has happened in the last several weeks? Well I suppose you could say that life has settled into a rhythm and become relatively normal. I almost know what light switches turn on what lights and can successfully make in to and from town with minimal bus mix ups so I'd consider that a major success! Spending the day speaking German is no longer completely and totally mentally exhausting and I like to think I get along quite well.

The fact that I haven't written in so long is not in the least to say that nothing exciting has happened, just not necessarily things I could write a whole post about. These include...

A variety of illnesses including but not limited to a painful sinus infection, a serious cold and food poisoning. Its not much of a stretch to say I've been sick for almost half of my trip. I am however now on the mend, just in time for the start of allergy season!

Taking the kids skating for the first time, which was an incredible amount of fun! Now I pride myself on being Canadian and would like to say that skating comes to me as easily as riding a bike... For the most part thats trueish, I myself can in fact skate decently, I however do not know how to teach children to skate! It was a comical hour and I wouldn't be surprised if the kidlets went home with bruised bums!

Missing my father's birthday, my sister's birthday and celebrating that of my host father. This celebration involved making a Teflon cake with cable salad on top (black icing and a lot of twisted string candy) You should be careful what you wish for or you just might get exactly that!

A wide variety of crafting projects with the kidlets, the entire cast of the gruffelo books, painting wooden card stands and starting a couple great big canvas pictures for their bedrooms. I'm very thankful for my kids crafting program at work last summer, if I can craft with 18 kids, 3 is a breeze! There is also an amazon order for the 250 sheet package of Crayola construction paper that will hopefully arrive any day now and will be very exciting as finding such quantities of craft supplies here is proving to be a difficult task. Boy do I miss my Michaels discount!

This years season of Heidi Klum's hit "Germany's Next Top Model" has begun and of course must be watched Thursday evenings at 8:15. My Thursday evenings are now spent at a friend's house watching the show that is proving to be quite entertaining. Its just as silly and over dramatic as any american casting show with the amusing addition of Heidi Klum speaking in her native German tongue.

There has been relatively no new news regarding the German language course I'd like to take, still just waiting for next semesters courses to be posted and available for registration.

My typical week looks like this....

Monday- Morning off, pick up kids in the afternoon and do crafts

Tuesday- Bring kids to kindergarten, pick up, play at the playground until music class, pick up from music class

Wednesday- Bring kids to kindergarten, pick up, crafts or visitors

Thursday-Bring kids to kindergarten, have lunch at daycare, pick up, kids sports in the afternoon, Germanys Next Top Model in the evening

Friday-Bring kids to Kindergarten, pick up, games crafts or visitors

Saturday-Grocery shopping, kids activities, visitors or visits

Sunday-Nice breakfast, free time, visitors or visits, kids bath time

There is also the occasional trip to town and a couple of naps in that week plan as well. My evenings and free time are spend mostly writing mail, trying to blog (unsuccessfully) Knitting, crocheting or whatever small project Ive come up with at the time.

The two big trips that have happened up to now, one to Plauen and one to Bremen I think Ill summarize together in the next post. My train is driving backwards and writing is beginning to make me motion sick so i think I'll wrap up for now! I know this wasn't the most action packed post but its just a look into my life and to catch up due to my laziness. There are some exciting adventures coming up that will hopefully give me a few things to tell.

This coming Friday is February 21st which marks my first 3 months in Germany! Thank you all for your love and support!

Love Cedar


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Cedar Sutherland, Au pair for three children in Braunschweig Germany. Adventures, day to day life, rants, raves and news

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All